New Year, New Direction, Same Blog

Road-and-Arrow

We’re some weeks into 2014 and everybody has already recorded some victories (and some defeats).

After thinking about it long and hard, I’ve decided to re-purpose the blog.  Thing is, my brand name was fragmented – I had several different communication messages on social media and they barely resonated with my ‘About Me’ page. If my Brand Strategy professor found out, I’d be in trouble. I had to take the time to create one unifying theme and message.

So I present the new and improved Ibukun Taiwo Blog. Here’s what you can expect from me in 2014.

  • Writing Tips and Tutorials
  • News about the Nigerian Publishing Industry
  • Short Stories
  • Books and Movie Reviews
  • Random rants based on my mood whatever is going on in my life
  • Inspiration.

Let me say something about that last part. I realized in 2013, that I had a lot of downtime due to depression or a general lack of enthusiasm. Sometimes, just thinking of the blank page waiting for me at my desk was enough to discourage me from working. But, I’m ready for that particular monster in 2014.

I’ve made it a habit to consciously look for materials to motivate and inspire me to get up everyday and pursue my dreams. By materials I mean books, movies, articles, lots of research papers and when worst comes to worst, inspirational quotes.

A friend sent me one of those quotes recently that set me off, firing on all cylinders for three days. Here’s the quote:

Don’t judge each day by the harvest you reap but by the seeds you plant – Robert Louis Stevenson

I hope you find that as inspiring as I did.

If you come across a nugget of wisdom that would help an editor slash ghostwriter slash science fiction and fantasy writer with procrastination and depression tendencies, feel free to drop me a comment or send me a tweet.

Leave a Comment

