Everyone has at least one story to tell

writing

I believe telling stories is one of the best gifts we’ve been granted as human beings. The ability to compress our entire life journey into just a few hours’ experience is unfathomable yet, storytelling accomplishes just that.

I’m also a subscriber to the belief that everyone, without exception, has at least one story inside them. Some have a dozen. I read about a lady the other day who had two PhD degrees, raised like three or four kids and still kicked major butt in her career. I can see three to four books in that woman’s story already.

But you don’t have to cure cancer to tell your story (although if you did, I’d write your story for free). You just need to be interested, passionate enough to want to have it told. Because it’s not an easy task. More of that in the next post.

And don’t think, “I’m not that important, why would anyone want to read my story? And I lived a fairly boring life.”

Well, you’re wrong in two aspects. First, no one knows what people want to read. Not the publishers, not the literary agents and not the reviewers. I dare say even the readers are not so sure about what their next read is, which is why we love book recommendations. My favourite read last year was Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl and that would be the first time I read such a dark thriller. So, that’s one.

Secondly, let’s put this out there. EVERYONE thinks they’re fairly boring on some level. In fact, if you don’t, you’re probably a douche. That faint fear is what makes us want to try new things, to explore, to leave the comfort zone. In all the emails and queries I’ve gotten asking for my services, I’m yet to meet someone who is completely, irredeemably boring. Not one. Because, a boring person is a no-sell. You may not be able to see it but leave that to your ghostwriter.

After all, that’s what you pay us to do – to tell your story and tell it well.

I’m a Ghostwriter. Let’s talk.

One thought on “Everyone has at least one story to tell

  1. If you can talk you can write.

Leave a Comment

