2016 in Review

2016-in-retrospect_header

Whew! What a year, right?

Thank God it’s finally over.

It’s time to go over all the important things that happened during the year.

First things first, I ran the marathon

img_20160206_075633607_hdr

Why so serious, bros?

img_20160206_134917743 Let me put that in context. I ran the marathon with no preparation whatsoever. The decision was made in the middle of an exchange with a friend on Facebook. And the next thing I knew, I was buying sneakers and mentally psyching myself up for the marathon.

I didn’t finish though. I started the run alone but I picked up a running partner along the way – Smith. We did almost 10km together before his calves gave way and he had to sit down. I decided to stay with him and we walked the rest of the way till he got to where he could get a bus.

I probably should have left him when he got the muscle pull and continued with my run but I just didn’t feel right about leaving him there. By the time I got to the 37km mark, the marathon was over.

Next year, I’ll run it again.

Selfie Maestro

img_20161022_124210 img_20161022_123829 img_20160930_134413 img_20160525_102408 img_20160514_111458 img_20160423_122720

I took a lot of selfies this year. Apart from the fact that I use selfies to bookmark events, I didn’t take many pictures growing up. So, this may be a subconscious way of making up for that. I don’t know. I’m not a shrink. Whatever.

Globetrotter

I travelled this year more than I’ve traveled in years. When I was in school, traveling was a part of a part of the curriculum. I went to Ghana, Ondo and Abeokuta. Since then, I’ve been living in Lagos comfortably. This year, I went to Ibadan and Ondo state. It’s not much if you’re an actual global nomad, but it was a big deal to me. All the stress of packing your bags, meeting new people, treading that really really bad road with all the potholes, the money you spend for transport…

I don’t know how y’all do it, those of you who travel a lot but you have my utmost respect.

Career Rocket

December 2015, I quit my job at TechCabal. And just took time off anything work. January, I got a part time gig as a tech writer.

Eventually, in May, I joined Buffrspace as Head of Communications. It was scary at first but I have the best boss in the whole world. Everything you need in an oga – discipline, inspiration, focus – he has in spades. I’ve settled comfortably into the role and I’m pumped for what lies ahead. Here’s to doing great things in 2017.

Love

I’m developing a really storied love life. If I could describe it, I’d say it’s like a sinusoidal wave with very high highs and extremely low lows.You start to wonder how much a heart can take before it gets fed up and gives up. Hearts get broken and mended. With each cycle of the wave, I get wiser and smarter.

The decision to spend the rest of your life with someone is a big deal. Like the popular song goes, Only fools rush into such a thing.

Gratitude

I’m grateful for work. I’m grateful for being able to do something I love doing. And getting paid to do it. I’m grateful I get to work remotely a few days a week. I’m grateful to have a strong support system around me – my mom, my sis, my boss, my pastor and my friends.

I’m grateful for this blog. I’m grateful to have a palette to spread my thoughts out and piece them back together. I’m grateful for everyone who has spent time reading some of those thoughts here on this blog. Believe it or not, seeing these posts get read and even shared does a lot to encourage a writer.

Thank you.

Next post? What I’ll be doing in 2017.

9 thoughts on “2016 in Review

  1. To a greater and more awesome year brother! 🍷🍷🍷

  2. Nice…. Reminds me of the “count your blessings” song. I’m going to do my own list now.

  3. Nice one. Will copy it, hope you won’t mind

  4. Mr Man, I was a part of your 2016 so why my name no dey the post?

  5. Pingback: Here’s What I’ll be Doing in 2017 | Ibukun Taiwo

Leave a Comment

